Contact us

Blair Peach Primary School
Beaconsfield Road Southall
UB1 1DR tel: 020 8571 9947

Reading

Reading Strategies

Below is a list of reading/word games and some advice.  We have tried to include the same terminology that we use with the children.

Early Readers:

More Advanced Readers

 

Please find a list below of some of our favourite sites for you to read or listen to with your child.

http://www.storylineonline.net/ : Loads of favourite stories read by lots of famous (and not so famous) people including Kevin Costner and Robert Guillaume.

https://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/for-home/ : After registering for a free account (which only takes a few minutes), you have access to over 250 children’s audio books that can be used to read at home.

https://www.bbc.com/education/topics/zjhhvcw/resources/1 : A great site where children can listen (and join in) to poetry read mostly be the poets themselves.

https://www.tuck.com/best-bedtime-stories/ : A guide to find age appropriate books that are available to print and read online.

 

Year 1 and 2 Common Exception Words

100 High Frequency Words

Next 200 High Frequency Words

Word List for Years 3&4

Word List for Years 5&6

How to Help with Reading at Home

The Importance of Reading

Domain Questions

KS1 Bookmark

KS2 Bookmark

 https://www.booktrust.org.uk/books/great-books-guide/

 

Parent Link:  www.parentlink.co.uk

BBC Parenting Website:  www.bbc.co.uk/parenting

Booktrust:  www.booktrust.org.uk

Guys Read:  www.guysread.com

Mrs Mad:  www.mrsmad.com

Bookheads:  http://www.bookheads.org.uk/

First Choice Books: www.firstchoicebooks.org.uk

Reading Matters: www.readingmatters.co.uk

Teen Reads:  www.teenreads.com

Love Reading: www.lovereading.co.uk

Year 5 Trip to London Eye Linking with the Book – London Eye Mystery